Array
(
[0] => Array
(
[name] => Shoshi Lodge ( Women Teachers Training College)
[post_id] => 22126
[post_link] => http://offroadbangladesh.com/bn/places/shoshi-lodge/
[thumb_link] => http://offroadbangladesh.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/Shoshi-Lodge-4-300x169.jpg
[post_content] =>
Shoshi Lodge (শশী লজ) is located at the center of Mymensingh city which is also known as the Residential Palace of Moharaja Shoshi Kanto Acharya (মহারাজা শশীকান্ত আচার্য). This palace is very close to the river Brahmaputra which is being used as Women Teachers Training College from the year 1952.
According to the history, most of the rulers from Zamindar family have adopted babies in different era and those adopted child ruled the area later. For example Gourikanta(গৌরীকান্ত) was adopted by Roghunondon(রঘুনন্দন). Son of Gourikanta was Shashikanta(শশীকান্ত) and his wife adopted Surjokanta (সূর্য্যকান্ত) as she was childless. Later, Surjokanto became the prominent Zamindar of Mymensingh district. People used to call him as Moharaja(মহারাজা).
Moharaja Surjokanto Acharya was the Zamindar in Mymensingh region for long 41 years. During the reign of his Zamindari he did so many work for social welfare and made a remarkable change in infrastructural development.
He started to build an unique two storied building on an area of nine acre at the end of nineteenth century. Childless Zamindar Surjokanto named after this building in the name of his adopted son Shoshi Kanto Acharya. After completion of construction this building was extensively damaged by a destructive earth quake on the year 1897. Zamindar Surjokanto was immensely worried at this great loss.
Later Zamindar Shoshi Kanto Acharya re-built this building with many additional features in the year 1905 and did more renovation work in 1911. This unique classical architecture and its surrounding will certainly attract a traveler to explore this place recurrently.
)
[1] => Array
(
[name] => {:en}Haripur Zamindar Bari{:}{:bn}হরিপুর জমিদারবাড়ি{:}
[post_id] => 6437
[post_link] => http://offroadbangladesh.com/bn/places/haripur-zamindar-bari/
[thumb_link] => http://offroadbangladesh.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/Horipur-Zamidar-Bari-of-bangladesh-300x200-300x200.jpg
[post_content] => {:en}
The Zamindari, the area for which the Zamindar was responsible, was 300-400 years ago. Sri Jukto Babu Ghono Sham Kundu was a big businessman during that time, he had a handicraft business. He used to come to this area for business purposes. But once, by cheating, he took over this Zamindari, and started the new Zamindari which followed the Hindu religion. If you turn 60 years back then you will find the last Zamindar in the history of this area. The Zamindari was ruled by two brothers, one was Sri Jukto Babu Narayan Rai Chowdhury, and the second one was Sri Jukto Babu Bishendro Narayan Rai Chowdhury. Their father was Sri Jukto Babu Rajoshri Jogendro Narayan Rai Chowdhury and their mother was Sham Mohini Chowdhurani.
When you visit this Zamindar Bari, you will find a lot of things which hold their grandeur still, but in a ruined condition. You can see the outstanding terracotta temple, design, famous architecture and all other stuff and attractive decoration. When you visit the palace you will find some pieces of glass which are still fixed in door and window. The grills which have a different shape and design.
{:}{:bn}
দানকৃত সম্পত্তি এই হরিপুর জমিদারবাড়ি কেউ কেউ রাজবাড়ি হিসেবেও বলে থাকে। দেশের বিভিন্ন অংশ থেকে অনেকে এই জমিদারবাড়িটি দেখতে আসেন। হরিপুর গ্রামের পশ্চিমদিকে তিতাস নদীর পাড়ে অবস্থিত তিনতলা জমিদারবাড়িটিকে বাইরে থেকে দেখে আপনি কিছুই বুঝতে পারবেন না। একটি বিশাল বারান্দা অতিক্রম করে মূল ভবনটি আপনার চোখে পরবে। জমিদারবাড়িটির স্থাপত্যশৈলী যতটা না চমৎকার তার চাইতে নয়নাভিরাম জমিদারবাড়িটির দেয়ালের কারুকাজ। জমিদারবাড়ির প্রকৃত দরজাগুলো এখন আর নেই। বর্তমানে এখানে প্রায় ৩০টি পরিবার বাস করে। বলা হয়ে থাকে প্রায় ১৭৫ বছর পূর্বে ইংরেজ শাসনামলে জমিদার গৌরি প্রসাদ রায় চৌধুরী এবং কৃষ্ণ প্রসাদ রায় চৌধুরী এই জমিদারবাড়িটি নির্মাণ করেছিলেন। কৃষ্ণ প্রসাদ রায় চৌধুরীর মৃত্যুর পর হরিপদ রায় চৌধুরী এবং শান্তি রায় চৌধুরী এই জমিদারবাড়িটির উত্তরাধিকার প্রাপ্ত হন। অতঃপর তাঁদের কাছ থেকে জমিদার বাড়িটির উত্তরাধিকার চলে যায় উপেন্দ্র রায় চৌধুরী এবং হরেন্দ্র রায় চৌধুরীর কাছে। জমিদারবাড়িটি কখনোই মেরামত না করায় দিন দিন এটি তার জৌলুস ও আবেদন হারাচ্ছে।
{:}
)
[2] => Array
(
[name] => Naldanga Zamindar Bari
[post_id] => 5068
[post_link] => http://offroadbangladesh.com/bn/places/naldanga-zamindar-bari/
[thumb_link] => http://offroadbangladesh.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/DSC085911-300x225.jpg
[post_content] =>
Naldanga Zamindar Bari (নলডাঙ্গা জমিদার বাড়ি) is a very significant historical place of Gaibandha. It was the birth place of Tulshi Lahiri, a great artist, actor as well as writer. Surendrochandro, father of Tulshi Lahiri, decorated this colorful Zamindar Bari. Cheratar is one of the dramatic book of Tukshi Lahiri which is still included in books in the intermediate standard level in Kolkata.
At British period, Naldanga Zamindar Bari was one of the vital center for collecting revenue of North Bengal. Shibchandra and Shomvochandra were the two brothers who first came to Naldanga and founded the Zamindar Bari. Shibchandra was the grandfather of Tulshi Lahiri. Back of the Zamindar Bari, a relics of Mandir is still seen here. In front of the wall of Zamindar Bari, many valuable sculptures had been hooked, but most of them were stolen or snatched by the local people. Only one sculpture was rescued and still unharmed.
)
[3] => Array
(
[name] => Tajhat Zamindar Palace
[post_id] => 1923
[post_link] => http://offroadbangladesh.com/bn/places/tajhat-zamindar-palace/
[thumb_link] => http://offroadbangladesh.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/IMG_50442-300x225.jpg
[post_content] =>
Few of the attractions in Bangladesh are as stately, large and beautiful as the Tajhat Zamindar Palace. This historical palace was built near the beginning of the 20th century. It is situated roughly three kilometers south east of Rangpur’s city center and currently serves as a museum for the public.
The front of this impressive edifice is about 76 meters long and two stories high. A ribbed conical dome supported by a tall octagonal neck is located in the center of the roof and crowns the palace. These are just some of the extraordinary features that continue to attract visitors from around the world to this small corner of the globe. The incredible architectural skill that went into the building and design of this 100-year-old palace is truly something special and visitors often find themselves stunned by the craftsmanship that is found in this amazing structure. It is hard to believe that all this, and the surrounding city, all started as a simple bit of trade involving hats.
Sometime during the 18th century a man by the name of Manna Lal Roy traveled from Punjab in India as a cap or hat merchant.There was a massive cap bazaar where trade was regularly conducted about half a kilometer southwest of Mahiganj and this was where he set up shop. The area was known appropriately as taj (cap) hat (bazaar) and the name has always stuck. Manna Lal Roy was a shrewd businessman who managed to amass quite a bit of wealth through his cap sales. In fact he became so rich that he was able to loan many of the viceroys in the region money during the famine of 1770-1790. This gave him immense power and influence and eventually led to him becoming the founder of the Tajhat dynasty. In the 1900s, one of his indirect heirs, GobindaLal Roy, became the last viceroy and Raja of Tajhat. GobindaLal Roy was the most educated viceroy to ever take his position and under his authority Tajhat flourished. It is thought that the Tajhat Palace was built under his rule.
There are a number of features of the palace that testify to the incredible wealth of the Lal Roy viceroy. Apart from the building’s immense size, the wide stairs that climb to the second story on the front of the building are made of marble. Beautiful pictures can be found on doors and windows.
)
)